Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Well, I know I already posted a bunch of Pocket Vinyl stuff today, but I have been falling really far behind on just good ol’ art-stuffs, so I’m going to work at catching up on some of that. First, to see all of my art works in one area, please check out my Facebook art page: https://www.facebook.com/elizabethjancewiczart

In this post I’m going to focus on a commission I did for Eric’s old friend and my new friend, Anne. Anne commissioned me for a 1 ft x 1 ft piece and instead of giving me specifics, she listed a bunch of things she liked:

-Maine

-Scotland

-theater

-Brontë literature

Since Eric has known Anne a lot longer then I have, we brainstormed together to come up with the perfect idea that we thought Anne would get a real kick out of. Eric stealthily asked Anne who her favorite celebrities are (Dick Van Dyke, Angela Lansbury, & Steve Martin) and I got to work on a sketch…

And from there, created the charcoal sketch onto the masonite board:

And then, started painting…

This is all done in oil paints (what I usually use) btw.

And finally, the finished painting!

Angela is my favorite.

Here’s a close-up of the speech bubble (which, as you can now tell, incorporates all the suggestions she gave me!):

Then, when Anne got her painting in the mail (not having any idea what it was going to be) she posted a photo of it! So glad she likes it (I was a bit nervous, I admit).

I love when commissions challenge me to go outside from my norms!

 

