Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

When Eric and I left Jordan’s place in Roanoke we drove on towards my brother Ben and sister-in-law Tamika’s place in Baltimore. After such an incredibly rough week of canceled show, dreary rainy days, nights in the car, and complete exhaustion, we were both so looking forward to a friendly and comforting home to be a part of for a little while. Ben & Tamika’s little townhouse is the definition of comfort, and it was exactly what we needed.

We arrived in the evening on May 13th, Mother’s Day! And while this post is coming a few days late, I want to greet all mother’s out there with a very special thank you, for all you do and for how you’ve mothered me in some way. I’ve encountered many mothers throughout my life, and I’m grateful for them all. And to you brand new mothers as well, I admire your courage. To celebrate, here are a few of the cards I made to thank a couple of the mothers closest to me:

To make these cards I found a package of blank white folded card stock and dozens of brightly coloured envelopes at a thrift store. Then at a library on the “free old books” table I found these two gift books from the 1960s with beautiful 1960s art on every page, so I recycled them into these cards.

My eldest brother Ben was born on Mother’s Day in 1985, making my mom a mother for the first time. This year his birthday didn’t fall on Mother’s Day, but he still gets a card anyways!

We had no shows Sunday or Monday, and now it’s Tuesday and we start our final stretch of shows for this tour. Tonight we play with Ben & Tamika’s band the Black Marks, as well as our very talented friends the Boxelders, here in Baltimore (the event link is here). Then just a few more shows until we’re home!! Here’s the complete list:

May 15 – Baltimore, MD – Sidebar

May 16 – Fairfax, VA – Epicure Cafe  8 PM

May 17 – Lancaster, PA – Annie Bailey’s  9 PM

May 18 – Feeding Hills, MA – The Underground Cafe   8:30 PM

May 19 – New London, CT – Oasis Pub

This tour has been amazing, but we really can’t wait to be home again in Connecticut.

Thanks for reading!

