Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

In preparation for the Cornerstone Festival in Illinois and the free booth space they were giving me to be able to sell stuff, I figured I should actually bring stuff to sell! So we got some of the regular masonite boards I typically do my Pocket Vinyl show paintings on, chopped them into sixteen 6″x6″ pieces (and four 12″x12″ pieces), gessoed them up, and I spent a solid day before we left just sitting in our room painting mini scene after mini scene. It was exhausting non-stop painting work, but I’m glad I did them so fast; I was able to get into that Pocket Vinyl show-like mindset, where I don’t really have time to think about what I’m painting, I just need to pull from my subconscious and not stop. Plus, I only had 1 or 2 days before we left and I needed to allow at least some time for these guys to dry!

Once we arrived at Eric’s uncle & aunt’s place in Indiana I painted the four 12″x12″ boards, and I also attached scrap wood to the backs of the paintings so they’d be easier to hang.

At our booth at the festival I really had an awesome time with people coming to me and telling me their own thoughts for the meanings behind different paintings. I did my best to never give away my own interpretation of the pieces (though I did have a few people get angry that I wouldn’t reveal the “secret meanings” of my paintings…) and I often found myself shocked by the different stories and emotions that my paintings appeared to bring to the surface! The fact that this was a Christian festival probably made things ten times more fascinating, hearing Biblical and spiritual references brought up.

Anyways, here are a few of my favorite from the 16 minis:

By the time we got home after the festival, we only had 3 of the original 20 paintings left!! (From the 16 minis and the 4 slightly bigger minis.) I was amazed and really happy that they sold so well, the extra money definitely helped us with the trip!

Go check out my Facebook art page to see images of all 20 of the paintings, and don’t be afraid to put in your two cents about what you think the meaning behind them is! Honestly, that’s the best part of creating art: hearing what emotions it causes in others.

