Tags

, , , ,

So, a good handful of shows have happened lately and a good amount of artwork has been done and a good amount of DIY projects have been completed… and I haven’t blogged about any of it. (This really has just turned into an odd sort of triptych between Pocket Vinyl, art, and DIY stuff, hasn’t it?) To be honest, I had an unsettling encounter immediately after our Friday New London shows, and it’s taken me a few days to get over that and to get back into doing regular things again, but I won’t get into that now.

The reason I decided to write again was because my brother Nick and I headed over to our high school alma mater the other day in order to catch one final glimpse of the 160+ year old weeping beech tree that had stood guarding the campus since the school was first founded in the mid-1800s. Tuesday they decided to chop it down and the deed took place Wednesday. By the time Nick & I arrived all that was left was a tall carved up stump.

For generations high school kids have been carving their initials in this trunk. Not only did my brother and I walk beneath it’s heavy hanging branches, but my parents both did, uncles, aunts, cousins, and even our grandparents. It’s incredible how something still living could’ve been around in the 1800s. I’m glad I have a handful of photos from it over the past few years, while it was still living and so wild and alive. Even after leaving NFA I loved bringing visiting college friends to see the old school and to climb all around the huge swooping limbs of the tree.

As Nick and I stood there staring at the bits and pieces of this thing older than any living thing I’ve ever known, a few people next to us were asking some of the workers for some of the wood. Nick stepped in and asked for a gnarled bit of trunk. Of course I needed to ask if I could have the 6 foot+, 100 pound+, massive limb. That was amusing fitting it into Nick’s tiny car and then the terrifying ride home with an untied bit of tree in my face, ready to crush me if we ever went over a bad bump! Not sure what I’m going to do with it yet… Something artsy I suppose. Suggestions?

Speaking of art, I’ll finish this post off with a painting sketch I did during my last year at NFA, while I sat on one of the old beech tree’s branches and painted looking out:

