Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

When my parents were visiting us here in CT right before they headed back home to Schefferville, Quebec, I gave them two large paintings to transport for me to our friend Oksana, who runs the McGill Subarctic Research Station up there. She’d commissioned two paintings from me of her dogs.

Around Kawawachikamach & Schefferville stray husky-type dogs run all over the place, and every once in a while someone won’t be able to resist the big pleading eyes of one of these puppies and they get adopted. Oksana has adopted a couple of these puppies over the years, and she loves them so much. Not only that, she often saves scraps wherever she can find them, and feeds the stray dogs around where she works.

Because she loves her dogs so much, I wanted to make sure these paintings were special and really reflected her puppies and the subarctic terrain they were raised in. I’d originally planned on doing these as oil paintings, but last minute I decided to experiment with a mixture of mediums: After the charcoal sketch, I washed most of the surfaces in watercolours, before adding a whole ton of texture using thinned out flat acrylics.

I splattered and dripped paint for a couple days, constantly coming back and reworking things, before I was completely satisfied with the textures, colours, and atmospheres that I wanted. I’m really quite proud of these two paintings.

Inspired by some graphic novel art I’ve seen recently, I finished them up with ink outlines, varying the thicknesses throughout the paintings.

I’m pleased to say that Oksana was very happy with the finished paintings. I’m so glad I got to do something special and meaningful for someone.

To see more of my paintings, please check out my art site on-line: https://www.facebook.com/elizabethjancewiczart

