Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve been wanting to share my chai recipe for a while now, but I’ve constantly been putting it off for one reason or another. Well, now that the weather is finally beginning to get slightly chilly again, and on a recent rainy snugly-with-knitting day I decided a homemade cup of warm chai would be perfect. It’s super simple to make and ridiculously delicious. I got this recipe from my cousin-in-law, Jessica, a couple years ago, so I call it Jess’ Chai:

Now, after a few years of making this I’ve tweaked it slightly to my own tastes. I like it less sweet and more spicy, so feel free to chage things around to your own tastes.

3 cups water
4 black tea bags
3 tsp vanilla
1 tsp each of:
ground ginger, ground cinnamon, and ground allspice (sometimes I switch out the allspice for pumpkin spice, if I have it)
1/2 cup honey or sugar (sometimes I find the bitterness of honey in the back of my throat too much, so I use sugar instead)

Combine all the ingredients in a large saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring constantly so your sugar doesn’t burn.

Continue stirring at a rolling boil for 5 minutes.

Remove from heat and cover, allowing the tea bags to steep for 30 minutes.

Remove the tea bags and you have your finished chai base. You can keep this in the fridge for up to 2 weeks, but remember to stir it every time you go to use it, since the spices settle.

This is where your own taste preferences really come in to play. Warm milk and add it to your chai base. You can do 1 to 1 milk to chai, but I typically do 2 to 1, since less milk than that makes it too sweet for me. Stir it up, add a sprinkle of cinnamon on top, and you’ve got an amazingly cozy cup of homemade chai!

