Tags

, , , , , , ,

Alright, so to go along with the season getting chillier I decided to try my hand at making a couple soups from scratch. I hardly ever had before, so this was all a very new thing for me. The first one I tried (and it’s probably still my favorite that I’ve made myself) was a roasted tomato & garlic soup. I will definitely be making this regularly from now on.

This recipe serves two, without seconds, so I’d definitely recommend doubling, tripling, quadrupling, etc.

Ingredients you’ll need:

– 5 regular-sized tomatoes

– 1 tablespoon of salt

– 1 teaspoon of black pepper

– 1 tablespoon of dried red chili pepper flakes

– 1 whole heads of garlic with the peel left on, plus 2-3 cloves, peeled and chopped

– 1/3 of an onion, chopped

– 1 bunch of basil, chopped (fresh or dried)

– 1 cup of vegetable stock

– 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese

-olive oil

Now on to creating the soup!

– Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

-Cut the tomatoes in half and put them in a large bowl. Drizzle a little olive oil over the tomatoes, then sprinkle on the salt, pepper, and chili flakes. Toss to coat. Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil and place your tomatoes cut side down onto the cookie sheet.

-Place in the oven and cook for 45 minutes.

-Immediately after that, cut about 1/4 of the garlic head off and place the garlic into a sheet of aluminum foil. Drizzle with olive oil and wrap up tightly in foil. Place this garlic package next to the tomatoes already in the oven and allow it to cook along side until the tomatoes are done (about 40 minutes now).

-Once both tomatoes & garlic are done roasting, allow them to cool until you can handle the garlic. Squeeze the roasted garlic cloves out of their peels and throw the peels out.

-In a large pot over medium heat, add a drizzle of olive oil, the chopped onion, and the two fresh, chopped garlic cloves. Cook until the onion becomes translucent.

-Add the roasted tomatoes, roasted garlic, basil, and vegetable stock.

-Allow the soup to simmer, uncovered, for 20 minutes.

-Add the Parmesan cheese.
-Finally, transfer to the soup a blender or food processor and puree until smooth.

-Adjust salt & pepper to taste, and serve! I toasted some mini croissants with melted brie to serve alongside our soup, and we enjoyed everything out of a pair of ceramic bowls I made when I was in college.

