Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ll be honest, this soup wasn’t my favorite. It wasn’t bad, it was just really thick, and maybe I just wasn’t that hungry when I made it. Either way, if you like broccoli and you like almonds and you like thick hearty soups, I’m betting you’ll really enjoy this one. (Reminder, this recipe makes 2 servings, so you might want to double, triple, etc) So, on to…

The Ingredients:

– 1 small onion, chopped

– 3 cloves of garlic, minced

– olive oil

– 1 entire head of broccoli, chopped

– 3 cups of water

– 1/4 cup of sliced almonds

– flour for thickening (next time I’ll probably leave the flour out, since like I said, I found it too think. So use your own discretion.)

– salt & pepper

Now the what-to-dos:

– Begin by sautéing the garlic and onion in a drizzle of olive oil over medium heat in a saucepan until onions are translucent.

– Add broccoli and stir everything together, seasoning with salt & pepper. Cook for about 5-10 minutes.

– Add water and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and allow to simmer for 10-15 minutes, until broccoli is tender.

– While the soup is simmering, toast your almonds by sautéing them with a drizzle of olive oil in a separate pan, until lightly browned. Remove from heat and set aside.

-Once your broccoli is tender, transfer your soup to a blender, add the toasted almonds (you might want to keep some out to garnish your soup with later) and blend.

– Add flour, spoonful at a time, if you think you need it, and continue to blend until everything reaches a desired consistency.

Your soup’s all done! I garnished mine with some of the toasted almonds and a drizzle of olive oil, it was very pretty. I’d definitely try this recipe again, minus the flour, and maybe with other kinds of nuts.

On yeah, and this, as well as all these soups, go amazingly with homemade artisan bread.

