Tags

, , , , , , , ,

A while ago, over a year and a half ago, I created three paintings of three children very dear to me. I submitted all three to different exhibitions in the local area, and while the Susie painting and the Jaiden painting both got accepted into galleries, the third painting, the Kelly painting, was returned to me. I guess because of that I forgot to ever post about it on-line. It’s about time I completed the trilogy. Especially since I see the painting hanging on our wall every day, and am reminded of the sweet young girl that it’s based off of.

The painting is of Kelly, a girl I had in class when I was teaching art in Canada on the Naskapi reservation for a year before I got married. She’s a real sweetheart, and I wanted to capture her innocent kindness.

Untitled-2

I also wanted to include some aspect of the area where Kelly is from, and that’s why I included the ptarmigan “halo”.

IMG_7344I’m very happy with how this painting turned out. Sad it didn’t make it into the exhibition, but happy that I get to enjoy it daily. I miss Kelly. (By the way, this is oil paint on a 24″ x 24″ masonite board.)

