Tags

, , , , ,

Little bites from our Korean Adventures:

-Six-ish times a week the intercom system in our apartment plays a little tune, then a very stilted male Korean voice comes on and makes some kind of announcement. I believe it’s about zombies. Maybe a tsunami. Just recently though, after 3 announcements in a single night, I began to suspect that it’s only being sent to our apartment and it’s someone trying to tell us how we’re unknowingly being super offensive in the Korean culture.

– Ever since we arrived at our apartment the toilet has been running. We’ve tried everything to try to get it to stop. Now we just keep the door closed.

– After receiving our washing machine I took a photo of the buttons and the 22 different options and showed it to a Korean friend, asking her to please explain how I can get the thing to work. When she told me a drew myself an instruction picture.

IMG_7758

– For the first three or four days we had no hot water. One day, right before Eric was about to take another ice cold shower, I tried pushing in a little button on our bedroom wall. Instantly the shower water began heating up. Because of course your water temperature would be decided by a button in your bedroom.

– I’m constantly assuming I’m in the wrong place at the wrong time, and I’m constantly expecting someone to come tell me to move.

– I keep having these half-awake dreams where I think someone’s in our apartment making food or showering. Usually I assume it’s the cat and go back to sleep. We don’t have a cat.

– Almost every time we walk to or from church everyday we discover a slightly more efficient shortcut. However, even though we’re on the 5th floor, we always take the stairs. By September our calf mussels will be amazing.

– Ten days after arriving I finally memorized the numeric key to open our apartment door.

– Despite being told by the church that we need to cover up our tattoos, I’ve had at least three middle aged Koreans (two women and a man) point out that they found my tattoos to be beautiful. Tearing down stereotypes every day.

– About 85% of the money I’ve spent since coming to Korea has been on stickers and stationary… Iloveitsomuch!!

– One of my favorite things to do is slowly wander the aisles of our nearby E Mart, carefully inspecting almost every single product and wondering what its purpose is. I think I view stores in Korea as alien museums.

– We’ve both decided that living in Korea as someone from the United States must be what it feels like to be illiterate.

 

More to come later!

But for now, please enjoy this image of me making toast in the frying pan this morning (our apartment didn’t come with a toaster).

tumblr_mpn8ce6hCK1r60igyo1_500

