Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I could say I haven’t updated since the last post because I’ve been super busy getting ready for VBS here, which starts tomorrow. I could talk about how we haven’t had a day off in over a week and that I’ve been really stressed. But I haven’t been stressed because of VBS and the church here, really. I think the honest reason for my stress, my anger, irritation, and… constant nightmares, has been because of Susan-Diane. I’ve been taking her accident much worse than I ever thought I would. I can’t get past her youngness, her innocence, she was just a child. She had so much living ahead of her. Children just shouldn’t die. It doesn’t seem right at all.

Well, I seriously felt like I needed to do something. I felt helpless, here on the complete opposite side of the world. So I did the one thing I’m best at: I drew a picture. It’s for Susan-Diane’s mom.

The words on the left are Naskapi, Susan-Diane’s unique and beautiful heritage, the one I grew up within as a child:  ᓱᐛᔨᑕᑯᓱᐅᒡ ᐊᓐᒡ ᑲ ‍ ᓂᓇᐧᑲᒋᒧᒡ ᐛᔅ ᒋᓴᒪᓂᑐᐛ ᒋᑭ ‍ ᒥᔽᔨᒧᐃᑯᐅᒡ᙮ These words are pronounced “suwaayitaakusuuuch anch kaa-ninaahkaachimuuch waas chisaamaanituwa chiki-miywaayimuikuuuch.” And they translate as  Matthew 5:4 from the New Testament in the Bible: “Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.”

I hope my act brings some small comfort to Susan’s mom, family, and friends. Wherever she is, I hope she’s ok…

_MG_8167ab

