Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

_MG_7999

Summer reading!

This book was such an amazing find! At the beginning of the summer I asked on-line what book recommendations people had for me, and this one came up twice. If two people are recommending a book as one of the best things they’ve read, it’s definitely worth an investigation from me.

Soon before leaving for Korea we stopped by the Book Barn in Niantic, CT and at their downtown location I found an awesome cubby with shelves jam-packed full of humorous memoirs and essays (pretty sure multiple copies of every David Sedaris book ever was on those shelves, and I’ll definitely need to run back to pick up a few when we get home). Oh and by the way, places you need to visit sometime in your life: definitely the Book Barn. It’s a crazy fun experience, and maybe you’ll go home with a handful of awesome used books at a super good price. Eric and I seriously love going there and bringing friends there when they visit.

_MG_7488

Anyways, I found Jenny Lawson’s book there, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. One of the most hilarious books I’ve ever read. I began reading it pretty much right when we got to Korea, and with the change in environment I was kind of sickly for a week here and there, so it was perfect to have such an awesome, funny, and engaging book to keep me company. I was pretty much constantly laughing out loud and making Eric stop whatever he was doing so I could read him passages through uncontrollable giggles. Eric has promised to read LPTNH in its entirety at the Coffee Mission, the new coffee shop that our friends just opened here in Cheonan (more on that later) before we head home in a few weeks.

Ok, quick summery: LPTNH is mostly excerpts from Lawson’s (also incredibly hilarious) blog that allow you a view into her extremely creative and hilarious mind and way of thinking. She puts the book together as an autobiography, starting with her childhood in rural Texas, her seriously insane parents (her dad wakes her in the middle of the night to show off a hand puppet he made with the skin of a dead squirrel), her extreme awkwardness throughout high school, her completely opposite from her boyfriend turned fiancee turned husband, and on until now, as a young mother. Her writing, especially as a creative and socially awkward woman, really resonated with me. I seriously found the entire book gold.

Although she focuses on humor in her writings, Lawson is able to openly and emotionally discus very serious and difficult matters as well, and her honesty throughout everything makes you feel as though she is speaking from within yourself.

One caution: the book is loaded with curse words. So if that is something you’d rather not read, I definitely recommend you pass on this book. If that doesn’t bother you though and you want a hilarious laugh with someone who’ll quickly feel like your insane best friend, pick this book up immediately! Or checkout her blog (the Bloggess), both good.

