Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Remember Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson? Well, when I finished laughing my way through her book I still had the sniffles (who am I kidding? It hasn’t even gone away completely yet) so I immediately picked up one of the other few books I brought along to Korea: The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls.

I’d grabbed The Glass Castle on a whim at a library while we were on tour sometime in the past year. I think it was free actually, with a bunch of books the library was just trying to get rid of. I grabbed some big old books to do something creative and artsy with, and for no reason at all, also grabbed this one by Walls. I knew nothing about her and had never heard of the book, but I found the odd cover intriguing, and when I saw that it was a memoir I knew I had to take it with me. (I love crazy true stories about people’s lives.)

_MG_8003

It was so incredibly odd to read The Glass Castle directly after Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, without any length of time between the two. They’re both written by extremely complex women who’ve both gone through extremely strange and almost unbelievable childhoods, and they both have/had completely off the wall and out of this world parents, and siblings that stood strong beside them during the craziness. But where Lawson approaches her past with humor, Walls’… It’s not that she’s depressing or even has a woe-is-me attitude towards her upbringing, but she displays it in a way where, as she matures and grasps the consequences of her parents’ unfathomable decisions, so does the reader. Her childhood seems exciting and full of incredible adventure, but you also see the frightening parallels to very serious child abuse by a set of incredibly immature parents.

The Glass Castle is a seriously fascinating insight to present day child poverty, and to not only dealing with family but learning to distance and then come back and accept people despite the severe pain they can cause. Another highly recommended book. So glad I picked it up. I hear Walls’ other pieces are also worth looking into.

