Tags

, , , , ,

I haven’t done any food posts in a long time, but I decided I need to do this one because I just had the best sweet potatoes ever. I like the idea of sweet potatoes: they’re healthier than regular potatoes, and about three times cheaper (at least at the place where we do our grocery shopping), but I also really prefer savory foods to sweet foods, for the most part. And savory dishes featuring sweet potatoes kept seeming to fall flat in my opinion. Until the other night, when I decided to try roasting them. Amazing. Seriously so delicious, I will only ever cook sweet potatoes in this way from now on!

IMG_1670

Stuff you need:

– a bunch of sweet potatoes (I think I used about 6 of varying sizes)

– olive oil

– thyme

– parsley

– coarse sea salt (as always, I’m sure regular salt would be fine too, but I like biting into the large pieces of sea salt)

– a full onion

– white sharp cheddar cheese (optional)

Stuff to do:

– Wash the sweet potatoes, then chop them up into approximately 1 inch cubes. (I’m really happy I decided to leave the skins on, as they added an additional crispy flavor.)

– Place your sweet potato cubes in a large bowl and drizzle with olive oil, then sprinkle with thyme, parsley, and sea salt.

– Mix up the sweet potatoes so that everything is evenly coated.

– Spread out the cubes into oiled baking sheets. Try to keep the cubes from touching too much, so that they’ll roast evenly.

– Place the trays into your oven, preheated to about 375°.

– After 15-20 minutes, stir the sweet potatoes up as bit. This keeps them from sticking to the pan and helps them to roast evenly.

– Slice up the onion into rings, and arrange the rings over the sweet potatoes. (It’ll look pretty classy, and smell amazing as it begins to roast.)

– Continue roasting for another 30-40 minutes, or until they look done to you.

– Once you’ve pulled the trays out of the oven, use a very fine cheese grater to shred just a small amount of cheddar cheese over all the sweet potatoes (if you transfer the sweet potatoes into a serving dish, add the cheese last as the garnish).

Hope you enjoy these half as much as I do!

