Tags

, , , ,

WHILE LOOKING UP THE LINK TO ALLIE BROSH’S BLOG I DISCOVERED A NEW POST FROM OCTOBER THAT I HAVEN’T READ YET AND I’M FIGHTING THE URGE TO BLOW OFF WRITING THIS BLOG POST AND GO READ IT JUST FOR YOU. So be appreciative.

One of my New Year’s “resolutions” (they were super vague, so I feel weird even calling them “resolutions”) was to purposely read more books. Eric & I both want to be the kind of people that have huge bookshelves everywhere in our house, but we can’t be that until we have huge book collections. So we’ve been picking up books at used book stores and we both got a handful of new books for Christmas. The only problem is, we also both still have a bunch of books that we haven’t finished or haven’t even started reading. Maybe it’s a weird motivation, but I’m using my “I want to be the kind of person that has big bookshelves in my house” to encourage myself to read more. Also, I think an extra motivation will be to continue posting here about the books that I read. That way I can share and potentially get feedback from other people who’ve read the same books and/or get recommendations for other books I might be interested in, based on what I’ve been reading.

So yes, the first book I finished in 2014 was Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half. I’d sort of been dropping huge hints in Eric’s direction that I wanted this book for Christmas. Eric told me later that I’d been more than obvious, but also that he’d actually purchased it for me way before I even started talking about it.

81djqJv8lZL

It’s spectacular. If you’re familiar with Brosh’s blog, also titled Hyperbole and a Half (you know, the Alot post, the “all the things!” meme, etc), it seems pointless of me to try to convince you to read this book. It’s as awesome as her blog. A few of the stories even made me laugh harder than I have with her blog. There are a bunch of “repeat” stories (some of her more popular and hilarious posts), as well as just as many brand new stories. The final stories, “Identity Part One & Two”, I found largely relatable and really hilarious. Laughing at books out loud when you’re alone is absolute proof that a book is awesome.

To anyone who hasn’t experienced Brosh’s blog, go do so now. It’s awesome. She writes these amazingly relatable stories about her life, experiences, and childhood (I find the childhood stories particularly awesome). She’s an amazing writer, and she fills her stories with these hilarious little computer drawings. It’s amazing how much character she can express with essentially a stick figure.

In the book Brosh includes her two “Depression” stories, which created massive attention for how perfectly she captures the experience of being severely depressed. From my own personal experiences, I’ve never seen anyone express the feelings of depression as clearly as she does. I’d simply recommend this book to everyone just so that they can understand and be sympathetic to those that they love who might struggle with depression.

So yes. Awesome book. Bunches of stars and all that. Quick warning: She uses strong language quite a bit. Which I think adds to the hilarity, but it has the potential to offend.

P.S. Jenny Lawson has a quote on the back of Brosh’s book, endorsing it. So if you liked Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, you’ll most likely like this book as well.

