Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I haven’t done many art blogs lately, and I kind of have a backlog going right now of undocumented pieces I’ve been working on.

This was a Christmas gift for the year before last, and for some reason it’s taken me this long to post about it. I can’t claim this idea, I originally saw it on my friend Melody’s blog, so go check out her versions, they’re super cute. When we asked Eric’s brother for Christmas gift ideas for their three kids, he suggested maybe something for the walls in his newborn’s bedroom, telling us that the room was decorated in pinks with tan walls. I thought of Melody’s painted letters immediately and the colour scheme of pinks & pale yellows seemed perfect. We were able to easily find the wooden letters at a nearby craft store, along with thin pink & yellow polka dotted ribbon for hanging. A quick sanding around the edges, and then I painted each letter in a different pattern combination of pink, yellow, & white. Afterwards I added a coat of clear varnish, to keep the designs from chipping, and attached the ribbon in loops to the backs of each. Here are the finished letters, hanging and also on a flat surface. Untitled-2

I liked how simple and sweet this gift was. Thanks for the inspiration Melody!

