Tags

, , , ,

Two vague “New Year’s Resolutions” I made in January were to read more and to read through the entire Bible in a year. Both got shelved (pun!) within two weeks. I guess we left for a tour, and although I kept carting books and my Bible around on these tours with good intentions. I never once picked them up to actually read them. But, the wonderful thing about chopping up our time into “tour” and “home” categories, is that every time we come home it feels like a fresh start and a time to reevaluate those resolutions.

I finally picked up the Bible again, taking up Genesis where I’d left off, and scheduling two sessions of readings into my days to make up for lost time. (I’m using a schedule I found online. Per recommendation of a good friend). I’ve actually been enjoying reading double the passages per day. Although it does take longer, it makes me feel as though I can digest bigger chunks of story and not get lost in lists of genealogy (ugh, the worst part of Bible reading!).

Anyway, I just finished up Genesis, and decided that, as an attempt to keep myself motivated, I’d write about each book of the Bible like any other book I might talk about on my blog.

IMG_3984

One of the most interesting things I found about reading Genesis is that, although I’ve attempted to read it through in the past, this was the first time I’d read it through an “Old World” perspective. I’d always seen the creation story as “6 literal days” and had taken the entire “Adam made of dust, Eve made of a rib” thing completely as that’s how humans were created. I don’t think that way anymore, choosing now instead to believe in a Big Bang theory and evolution. I still think everything was created by God, but not exactly the way Genesis says. (Actually, I’ve been leaning towards Mars being a dead sustainable planet and a chunk of it breaking off and crashing into the Earth years ago. Why not? It could be the case.)

There are so many other creation stories in other cultures that sound similar to the Bible, but just because the Christian one has been put into this book, it’s assumed to be the only one that’s correct. Well anyway, I could go on a lot longer. The point is, I found it really fascinating to reread this book through a completely different view, but still be able to see it through my old eyes simultaneously.

Same thing with the story of Noah and the ark. Also, how amusing (disturbing?) it is that we teach so many of these stories to children, leaving out the terrifying bits. The story of Noah was a terrifying worldwide holocaust!

I think Eugene Mirman summed up the God of the old Testament with his description of God as a 12 year old boy with asperger’s.

Final note: This book is so weird, as evidence by my first attempt to read through the entire Bible when I was 11, and the reason I decided to give up on that idea for 16 years: What the heck is up with that creepy story about Lot’s daughters? Seriously. They never tell you that stuff in Sunday School.

 

