Tags

, , , , , , , ,

 

Besides picking the Bible back up, with being home and having a lot less time in the car, I’ve started reading a lot more too. (I wish I could read in the car, but I get way too car sick). Recently we cleared out our bookshelves and took a good sized load of unwanted books over to the Book Barn in Niantic. They took what they could and we ended up with about $30 in credit (you can take your trade-ins as cash, but you get less than if you choose credit). I’d brought along a list of books that I’d been wanting to pick up, and we set to work scouring the shelves for what I had on my list. We ended up going to all three of their locations, and we weren’t able to find everything, but we were able to make a good sized dent in my list, spend the complete $30 credit, and even pick up a few spur-of-the-moment books that I hadn’t been searching for but that looked good. tumblr_n4yzy3OZe41r60igyo1_500

I went through their entire graphic novel section, carefully reading every title and pulling out anything that looked interesting. I love graphic novels, and I’m always searching for new titles. The biggest draw for me though is the art. I just can’t read a graphic novel with unappealing art, no matter how good the story is. Well, I lucked out in numerous categories with Paul Has a Summer Job (in this review the guy calls it “the Canadian Blankets, only shorter) by Michel RabagliatiUntitled-1

The artwork reminds me of comics found in the New Yorker, and while I’m typically not a fan of those, all together in this book I really enjoyed the art. It was fluid and Rabagliati is obviously comfortable in his style. Apparently, this book is one of a few of the same character and subject matter by Rabagliati, about a young man named Paul. The major selling part for me though was the fact that the entire story takes place in Quebec, my home Province. Maybe I was just feeling homesick right as I picked up the book, but it felt so safe and comforting to be able to get a little glimpse back into the old unique culture of my home.

The story follows a fictitious boy named Paul (though it could easily be a true story) as he drops out of high school in the 70s and finds a place for himself as a camp counselor for troubled kids out in the woods. The whole thing is heart-warming and sweet and nostalgic. But, just so you know, this is not a kids book; it contains adult imagery and themes. Definitely worth looking into otherwise, and I’ll be keeping my eye out for other works by Rabagliati.

 

